Skip To Main Content

Tiered Delivery

What is a Tiered Delivery System?

A tiered delivery system is a "...responsive framework that provides research-based instruction, interventions, and supports intended to meet the needs and assets of the whole child" (MDE Practice Profile, 2020, p. 14).

The tiered delivery system is one of the five essential components of the Multi-Tiered System of Supports (MTSS) framework. It uses whole child data throughout development, implementation, and continuous improvement. The MTSS framework builds on a public health approach that focuses on organizing the efforts of adults within systems to be more effective in supporting student success.

The five MTSS essential components are

  1. Team-Based Leadership
  2. Tiered Delivery System
  3. Selection and Implementation of Instruction, Interventions and Supports
  4. Comprehensive Screening & Assessment System
  5. Continuous Data-Based Decision Making

Oakland schools and its consultants offer a variety of support, programs, practices, and other resources to assist districts and buildings with MTSS.

Multi-Tiered System of Supports
Instruction & Pedagogy

Tier 1

Tier 1 focuses on core universal supports and instruction provided to all students in the classroom.

Programs and Practices

a male teacher is teaching a group of elementary students

Tier 2

Tier 2 focuses on targeted supplemental interventions and supports, such as small-group instruction or targeted interventions (some students).

Programs and Practices

a female teacher is teaching one elementary student

Tier 3

Tier 3 focuses on intensive individualized interventions and supports, such as one-on-one instruction or specialized services (few students).

Programs and Practices


Subscribe to our Newsletter


First Name
Last Name
Email Address