​​​​​​​Mathematics staff at Oakland Schools offers a wide array of professional learning and consultation opportunities.

We provide support for teachers and educational leaders in mathematics program design, curriculum alignment, content knowledge, instruction, assessment, and the development of collaborative structures where teachers work together to reflect on student achievement and improvements of practice.

The Oakland Schools Mathematics Consultants maintain listservs for the communication of updates and information. To join, contact Susan Kiersey with your name and district and which listserv you would like to be added to (Mathematics Elementary or Mathematics Secondary).

Apply for Mathematics Grants and Awards

MEEMIC Foundation for the Future of Education Mini-grant Program:   Any current educator in the state of Michigan can apply for up to $2,500.  Deadlines for submission is August 31 (winter funding).  Criteria for selection includes the number of students who will benefit from the proposed program, the creative aspect of the program, how the program will enhance current curriculum and how funding will impact the future of the students involved.  Accepted applicants will be required to submit follow up report detailing the ways in which the grant enhanced students’ educational experience. Email Meemic Foundation for more information or contact Foundation office at 1.248.375.7535. 

MET Grants: These grants, established by the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics, the Mathematics Education Trust (MET) offers opportunities to expand your professional horizons! MET provides funds to support classroom teachers in the areas of improving classroom practices and increasing teachers' mathematical knowledge.

Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching:  The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) are the highest honors bestowed by the United States government specifically for K-12 mathematics and science (including computer science) teaching. Established by Congress in 1983, the PAEMST program authorizes the President to bestow up to 108 awards each year.​

The award recognizes those teachers who develop and implement a high-quality instructional program that is informed by content knowledge and enhances student learning.  Awardees serve as models for their colleagues, inspiration to their communities, and leaders in the improvement of mathematics and science (including computer science) education. The National Science Foundation administers PAEMST on behalf of The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy.

PAEMST Award Nomination Information​​

Professional Organizations


Geraldine Devine

Mathematics Education Consultant

Dana Gosen

Mathematics Education Consultant

Valerie Mills

Supervisor/Mathematics Education Consultant

Marie Smerigan

Mathematics Education Consultant

Shawna Veit

Special Education Consultant - Mathematics