Sarah Davis

Communications Specialist

Press Release
For Immediate Release

Oakland Schools Board of Education trustees honored for years of service

Three Oakland Schools Board of Education trustees were top picks for the Oakland County School Board Association’s annual Apple Awards, which recognize board service longevity.

“Our Oakland Schools Board of Education is the core of our education community. This entire group works tirelessly day in and day out to ensure all of our students in Oakland County receive the best opportunities available to them,” said Dr. Wanda Cook-Robinson, Oakland Schools’ Superintendent. “This year, in particular, presented unique and sometimes overwhelming circumstances, but our board members continued to work hard for our local students. It is an honor and privilege to collaborate with this esteemed group.”

An Apple Award is presented after 12 years of service on a local school board. This year, 10 trustees serving on six different boards were recognized. The group totaled 178 years of board service; the three Oakland Schools board members honored contributed 78 of those years. They are:

  • Barb DeMarco, West Bloomfield School District, 2001-2010; Oakland Schools, 2004-present, for a total of 20 years of service.
  • George Ehlert, South Lyon Community Schools, 1992-2009; Oakland Schools, 2003-2008 and 2010 to present, for a total of 28 years of service.
  • Marc Katz, Berkley School District, 1990-2011; Oakland Schools 2012 to present, for a total of 30 years of service.

The Oakland Schools Board of Education has many responsibilities that relate to the education of all students in Oakland County such as providing for the safety and welfare of students, creating educational programs, setting the curriculum and courses taught in schools, employing all school personnel and leveraging local taxes to run the schools as well as adoption of an annual budget.

Other school board members from local Oakland County districts honored with an Apple Award are:

  • 12 years:
    • Linda Blair, Holly Area Schools
    • Louis Marty Cardamone, Royal Oak Schools
    • Peggy Casagrande, Walled Lake Consolidated Schools
    • Joan Sutherland, Waterford School District
  • 16 years:
    • Robin Carne, Holly Area Schools
    • Nancy van Leuwen, Walled Lake Consolidated Schools
  • 20 years:
    • Stephen Hyer, Jr., Clarkston Community Schools
    • Jim Weidman, Lake Orion Community Schools  

About Oakland Schools
Oakland Schools is a regional service agency that offers support services to school personnel which are best delivered regionally and provide cost, size and quality advantages to those we serve. Oakland Schools is an autonomous, tax-supported public school district governed by Michigan General School Laws and is one of 56 intermediate school districts (ISDs) established in Michigan in 1962.

Oakland School Horizontal logo

Every Student. Every Day.

Stay Connected