Sarah Davis

Communications Specialist

Press Release
For Immediate Release

Oakland Schools awards $25,000 in scholarships to local CTE students

Nineteen Career Technical Education (CTE) students from across Oakland County have been awarded funds from Oakland Schools’ prestigious Scholarships for Success program.

Scholarships for Success is organized by the Oakland Schools Education Foundation (OSEF) with the goal of helping to provide CTE students who have attended one of Oakland Schools’ four Technical Campuses (OSTC) with financial assistance to attend college, trade school or an apprenticeship program.

“We had 96 students apply for these scholarships and these are the best of the best,” said Oakland Schools’ Superintendent Dr. Wanda Cook-Robinson. “These students have worked their hardest and, as a result, are a step closer to achieving their dreams. Our OSTC campuses provide tremendous opportunities for those who choose to take advantage of what we have offer.” 

“All of the Scholarships for Success applicants this year were extremely thoughtful in their descriptions of accomplishments and areas of interest and involvement,” said Dr. Gary Gabel, member of the Oakland Schools Education Foundation. “I wish all of them great success as they pursue their CTE goals.”

Here is a list of the students in order of the scholarship amount they were awarded, as well as where they reside, what OSTC campus they attend and what OSTC program they are enrolled in:


  • Chibueze Anyanwu, Berkley, OSTC-SE (Royal Oak), Computer Programming (iTEAM)


  • Kayla Alkatib, Hazel Park, OSTC-SE, Health Sciences
  • Jia Li Avery, Huron Valley, OSTC-SW (Wixom), Health Sciences
  • Lauren Costigan, Holly, OSTC-NW, Health Sciences
  • Luke Dittman, Huron Valley, OSTC-SW, Entrepreneurship and Advanced Marketing (iTEAM)


  • Julie Brantley, Holly, OSTC-NW, Entrepreneurship and Advanced Marketing (iTEAM)
  • Preston Duller, Troy, OSTC-SE, Cybersecurity
  • Mary Holt, Avondale, OSTC-NE (Pontiac), Computer Networking (iTEAM)
  • Nadiya Humes, Walled Lake, OSTC-SW, Culinary Arts and Hospitality
  • Abigail Rizk, Troy, OSTC-SE, Health Sciences
  • Gavin Sebert, Rochester, OSTC-NE, Machining (EET)


  • Meredith Baert, Walled Lake, OSTC-SW, Culinary Arts and Hospitality
  • Charlena Banfield, Brandon, OSTC-NW (Clarkston), Entrepreneurship and Advanced Marketing (iTEAM)
  • Benjamin Exline, Clarkston, OSTC-NW, Mechatronics (EET)
  • Kayla Gulliver, Holly, OSTC-NW, Visual Imaging
  • Matthew Koontz, Troy, OSTC-SE, Cybersecurity
  • Carter Lewis, Oxford, OSTC-NE, Construction Technology
  • Lorena Nobani, Waterford, OSTC-NW, Health Sciences
  • Parker Pearson, Lake Orion, OSTC-NE, Welding (EET) 

Since its inception in 1991, OSEF has awarded 342 scholarships totaling over $476,000 to Oakland County students.


About Oakland Schools
Oakland Schools is a regional service agency that offers support services to school personnel which are best delivered regionally and provide cost, size and quality advantages to those we serve. Oakland Schools is an autonomous, tax-supported public school district governed by Michigan General School Laws and is one of 56 intermediate school districts (ISDs) established in Michigan in 1962.

Oakland School Horizontal logo

Every Student. Every Day.

Stay Connected