OS - Homepage
Search Now
 
Public School Academies/Charter Schools  

What is a public school academy (charter school)?

A public school academy (PSA) is an independent state-supported public school (one school that operates like an individual school district.) It may serve K-12 or any combination of grade levels. Some specialize in cultivating certain skills (i.e., performing arts, science and math). PSAs may not charge tuition. By law, the PSA’s funding may not exceed the amount received by the local school district where the PSA is geographically located.

 

View the Michigan Department of Education Q&A Sheet on charter schools/public school academies - valuable information for parents, students and chartering organizations.

 

To seek more information, or to enroll a student, contact the public school academy directly.

 

Academy of Detroit Business Office
Andrew Burks
20830 Greenfield
Oak Park, MI 48237-3051

aburks@charteracademies.com

248.569.7787
Fax 248.569.6674

 

Academy of Detroit Southfield
Chartered by Central Michigan University
Grades K-8 (63903)
18330 George Washington
Southfield, MI 48075
248.557.6121

 

Academy of Waterford
Chartered by Bay Mills Community College
Grades K-7 (63916)
3000 Sashabaw
Waterford, MI 48328
248.674.1649

 

A.G.B.U. Alex and Marie Manoogian School
Chartered by Central Michigan University
Dyana Kezelian, Elementary, Middle
dkezelian@manoogian.org
Dr. Hosep Torossian, High School
torossian@manoogian.org
Grades K-12 (63901)
22001 Northwestern Highway
Southfield, MI 48075
248.569.2988
Fax 248.569.1346

 

Arts & Technology Academy of Pontiac
(formerly Pontiac Public School Academy)
Chartered by Bay Mills Community College
Septembra Williams, CAO
Grades K-11 (63915)
888 Enterprise Drive

Pontiac, MI 48342
swilliams@mosaicaeducation.com

248.452.9309
Fax 248.452.9312

 

Bradford Academy
Chartered by Bay Mills Community College
Cheryl Paull, Contact

Grades K-12 (63917)
24218 Garner Street
Southfield, MI 48033
CherylPaull@choiceschools.com

248.351.0000
Fax 248.356.4770

 

Crescent Academy
Chartered by Bay Mills Community College
Grades PK-12 (63921)
Cherise Cupidore, Director

CCupidore@charterschoolpartners.com
17570 West 12 Mile
Southfield, MI 48076
248.423.4581
Fax 248.423.1027

 

Early Career Academy

Chartered by Grand Valley State University

Dr. Amy Boyles

Grades 11-12 (63936)

1522 East Big Beaver Road

Troy, MI  48083

248.509.2022

 

Dr. Joseph F. Pollack Academic Center of Excellence

(PACE Academy)

(formerly Edison-Oakland Academy)
Chartered by Eastern Michigan University
Damian Perry, Principal

Grades K-8 (63910)
23777 Southfield Road

Southfield, MI  48075

dperry@pacek-8.org

248.569.1060
Fax 248.569.1403

 

Faxon Language Immersion Academy

Chartered by Grand Valley State University
Rosalie Cohen, Principal

Grades K-6 (63926)

28555 Middlebelt Road

Farmington Hills, MI 48334

r.cohen@faxonacademy.com

248.702.6272

 

Four Corners Montessori Academy
Chartered by Oakland University
Chris Schoenherr, Administrator
Grades K-8 (63923)
1075 E. Gardenia
Madison Heights, MI 48071
chrisschoenherr@choiceschools.com

248.542.7001
Fax 248.542.7901

 

Frederick Douglass International Academy

Chartered by Ferris State University

Robert Davis, Principal

Grades K-8 (63935)

22111 Woodward Avenue

Ferndale, MI  48220

rdavis@fdi-academy.org

313.873.9201

Fax 313.873.9201

 

Great Lakes Academy

Chartered by Eastern Michigan University
Michelle Parham, Principal
Grades K-8 (63907)
46312 Woodward
Pontiac, MI 48342
parhamm@GreatLakesAcademy.org
248.334.6434
Fax 248.334.6457

 

Holly Academy
Chartered by Central Michigan University
Julie Kildee
Grades K-8 (63911)
820 Academy Road
Holly, MI 48442
kildeej@hollyacademy.org
248.634.5554
Fax 248.634.5564

Jefferson International Academy

Chartered by Central Michigan University

Dr. Elizabeth Ruff

Grades PK-6 (63933)

80 South Lyon Street

Waterford, MI 48328

dr.e.a.ruff@jeffersoninternationalacademy.com

248.682.5000

 

Kingsbury Country Day School

Chartered by Saginaw Valley State University

Thomas Mecsey

Grades K-8 (63934

5000 Hosner Road

Oxford, MI 48370

tmecsey@kingsburyschool.org

248.628.5000

Fax 248.628.3612

 

Laurus Academy
Chartered by Bay Mills Community College
Dr. Raul Calderon
Grades K-8 (63918)
24590 Lahser Road
Southfield, MI
54.rcalderon@heritageacademies.com
248.799.8401
Fax 248.799.8404

 

Life Skills Center of Pontiac
Chartered by Bay Mills Community College
Keisha Palmer, Administrator
Grades 9-12 (63920)
142 Auburn Avenue
Pontiac, MI

Keisha-Palmer@lifeskillspsa.com  

248.322.1163
Fax 248.322.1164

  

Michigan School for the Arts

Chartered by Oakland University

Robert Lozelle, Principal

Grades K-9 (63927)

825 Golf Drive

Pontiac, MI 48341

blozelle@comcast.net

248.338.2787

Fax 248.499.8843

 

Momentum Academy

Chartered by Lake Superior State University

Kimberly Wilder

Grades PK-7 (63928)

99 E. Woodward Heights

Hazel Park, MI 48030

kwilder@ihavemomentum.org

586.731.5300

 

Nexus Academy of Royal Oak

Chartered by Central Michigan University

Dale Bernard, Principal

Grades 9-12 (63930)

31333 Southfield Road

Beverly Hills, MI 48025

dbarnard@connectionseducation.com

248.593.8440

Fax 248.593.8264

 

Oakland FlexTech Academy

Chartered by Central Michigan University

Nir Saar

nsaar@oaklandflextech.org

Grades 9-12 (63931)

24245 Karim Blvd.

Novi, MI 48375

248.471.6799

 

Oakside Scholars Charter Academy

Chartered by Bay Mills Community College

Kathleen Grinwis, Principal

Grades K-6 (63909)

355 Summit Place

Waterford, MI 48238

97.kgrinwis@nhaschools.com

248.706.2000

 

Pontiac Academy for Excellence
Chartered by Saginaw Valley State University
Anthony Sedick, Interim Superintendent
Grades K-12 (63906)
196 Oakland Avenue
sedickt@pontiacacademy.org

Pontiac, MI 48343
248.745.9420
Fax 248.745.1275

2008-09 Budget

 

Taylor International Academy

Chartered by Central Michigan University

Dr. Frano Ivezaj, Administrator

Grades K-7 (63925)

26555 Franklin Road

Southfield, MI  48034

dr.ivezaj@taylorinternationalacademy.com

248.354.1500

Fax 248.354.1501

 

Walton Charter Academy
Chartered by Northern Michigan University

Amy Ebling, Principal
Grades K-8 (63913)
744 East Walton Blvd.
Pontiac, MI 48340
26.aebling@heritageacademies.com
248.371.9300
Fax 248.371.1642

 

Waterford Montessori Academy

Chartered by Saginaw Valley State University

Theo Papatheodoropolus, Director

Grades K-4 (63929)

4860 Midland Avenue

Waterford, MI 48329

theoamc@aol.com

248.674.2400

Fax 248.674.2424

 

Sarah J. Webber Media Arts Academy

Chartered by Lake Superior State University

Arveneda McDonald, Administrator

Grades K-6 (63900)

48980 Woodward Avenue

Pontiac, MI 48342

mcdonald.a@webbermma.com

248.972.9100

Fax 248.972.9101


 
Links  

2111 Pontiac Lake Road • Waterford, MI 48328-2736 • 248.209.2000
Copyright 2002-2012 Oakland Schools
Public Notices Contact Us